Friday, April 2, 2010

Quality time with mom

I'd like to dedicate this post to my mother. She is awesome, despite the fact we have polar personalities.

Why Mom is awesome: I like making "awesome lists,"...actually I like making lists out of
everything, probably stems from my need to define and analye all aspects of my life.
1. I can tell her everything. Such as this morning's text at 8:35 AM: Fun fact: I lost my virginity on a Good Friday. (So much for all those years of catholic school.) She knows who I've dated that was good and who was not, who was "blessed" and who needs a few lessons. Nothing shocks mom; mostly she just shakes her head.
2. She does not judge. Poor decisions, good decisions, she stands by my decisions because they are mine. She understands I need to make poor decisions to grow as a person. While she may not agree with everything I do, I know she does not think poorly of me as a person and her love for me does not decrease.
3. She can wing-girl. Such as last night, when we grabbed a few drinks together at a "younger" bar. We chatted about things pertaining to items 1. & 2.; she commented it's a shame how many unattractive people there are in the world (and mom is not superficial); and checked out the boys with me.
4. She covers for me. Like a 6:30 AM text, "you should come home before the jaber wocky (aka my dad) rises from his slumber." Or when she kept my retarded ex a secret from my father for 6 months (when I wouldn't come home on the weekend). Thanks mom!
5. Although she hates shopping, she goes with me because I am an excellent shopper and she tries to act like it's not completely miserable for her.
6. I have a tattoo that includes "Mom" in pink with a heart. You don't tattoo names you aren't serious about. Okay, this doesnt make HER awesome but it is homage to her awesomeness so it's worth mentioning.
7. She texts throughout the day. We often send each other funny face picture messages just to say hi.
8. She knows I am one of the few people who understand her. She is not one of those gossipy women with lots of friends. She talks to me. She knows I have spent hundreds of dollars on self-help books and do things like write blogs analyzing my issues, and she takes what I have to say seriously. When I read her my favorite parts of WMMB, she pretended to listen and contemplate.
9. I also don't call her mom; it's a nickname of her name that no one else calls her. It's "our thing."
10. Shortly after the Josh breakup, we had a bottle or 3 of wine together. The jaber wocky was not home, so I climbed in their tempur-pedic with her. I asked her if she would live next door to me when I'm an old maid with lots of cats and we could "cuddle" like this. Her response, "Yeah, if I'm not dating anyone." I questioned, "What about dad?" Her reply, "Well, you know he doesn't take care of himself." (The jaber wocky is somewhat overweight with high blood pressure he ignores.) DOH.
I'm really thankful to have a kick-ass mother and felt like sharing. We had a really good bonding session last night discussing what I've learned from my Argov Education. She gets it. You'll get it too after my blog post tomorrow. It's gonna be long (as if I'm not wordy enough) because it has to be and I want to be able to dedicate the right amount of time to craft it.
I also got a call and email about a new exciting job opportunity, and while I love my boss I don't love my job so that's looking good. I keep playing phone tag with the woman in HR but hopefully I'll speak to her next week. Kyle has stopped with his texts and I think has gotten the picture! And tonight, out with my PIC (partner in crime). The weather is gorgeous, life is looking good.

Often people attempt to live their lives backwards; they try to have more things, or more money, in order to do more of what they want, so they will be happier. The way it actually works is the reverse. You must first be who you really are, then do what you need to do, in order to have what you want. ~Margaret Young

No comments:

Post a Comment