It's amazing how light you can feel when you're not constantly trying to decode someone else's mood swings! Redirecting the focus onto what makes me happy is a great alternative. So I guess this whole getting over someone thing takes time and it won't be overnight. But I need to stop thinking about it completely, good times, bad times, pros and cons... I need to move on and stop over-analyzing and focusing so much energy into it.
Went to happy hour with a new gf last night and had a great time! Sat outside at the bar's patio, played games (she won Mets tickets, too bad we're all Yankees fans), and talked to new boys! Even gave my number to one of them. While he was too materialistic (I'm picky in an odd way) for me and too short (my height when I'm weighing flip flops- ugh) he was cute and fun to talk to. I was sitting at the bar talking to another guy (who was a mutual friend) and he walks away for a minute... and that minute turned out to be 5 minutes, so I grab his sweatshirt he left and went to give it to him and head home. I'm walking to the patio and all of a sudden the sweatshirt is yanked from my hands, I turn and there is a ravenous girl being held back by the guy. I just laughed and left. Poor crazy girl, probably an ex... Oh how I know what it feels like to be crazy!
Also ran into a guy who J is friendly with; we used to see the kid out occasionally. He knew J and I were dating obviously, and obviously he hasn't seen us together in a while. IDK what J tells people about our breakup but most likely he doesn't publicize, it's not his style. I smile and wave to the guy. He comes over and is like so what happened, no more J huh? and I shook my head, smiled, and said no. He said, you don't seem like it was your decision... I said no not really but it's okay. The guy says, "That's a shame, you two were cute together. He's going to learn once it's too late that girls like you are hard to find." I said yeah tell him that. Felt good to hear though.
And I went home and didn't feel the urge to do a stalker drive-by. I didn't cry. I wasn't upset. I went out, had fun, and didn't worry about J. AND IT FELT AWESOME.
The danger of overcorrecting in love
3 days ago

No comments:
Post a Comment